Skip to product information
1 of 1

Opal Tree Press

Ophelia: The Gaia Machine (Books 1-3) Special Edition with Bonus Content

Ophelia: The Gaia Machine (Books 1-3) Special Edition with Bonus Content

Regular price €4,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €4,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

This eBook will be delivered by BookFunnel, ensuring you can read it on any device. A paperback version can be purchased from Amazon.

A series of three dystopian science fiction novellas plus bonus content!

Set in the year 2120, this series of dystopian science fiction novellas are non-stop action techno-thrillers. The Gaia Machine, an A.I. that maintains order across a divided Earth is being used to control the masses until one woman leads a revolution to stop it.

The story world

By the year 2120, the world has changed dramatically. Few plants or animals have survived climate change and the human population has dropped to 3 billion. Life below the equator has almost entirely ceased. Nations between the equator and the 45th parallel north are on their knees, hopelessly bound by exploitive trade agreements with the more fertile nations in the north.

Alaska, Canada, Greenland, Great Britain, Scandinavia, Russia, and Siberia are thriving and their inhabitants’ lives are made comfortable by an artificial intelligence called The Gaia Machine. Representatives from these nations collectively form the power base on Earth and Mars and their demands are met by the Ruling Elite Secret Service (RESS).

Bioweapons have reached their zenith, capable of either healing or destroying entire nations in the blink of an eye. There have been another two world wars – one nuclear and one biological. The Ruling Elite consider these wars an act of benevolence, to end all life where climate-induced suffering has reached unbearable limits.

For those living in the affluent northern region, life is made comfortable by an artificial intelligence called The Gaia Machine. But for those living in the southern region, life is tough. So tough, they must trade their young women as surrogates in exchange for fresh water.

Ophelia Alsop, a privileged woman from the United Kingdom, and long-time conscientious objector to the surrogacy trade, takes matters into her own hands by becoming pregnant with her husband. For this, she is punished by the invisible hand of the law in a manner only The Gaia Machine could execute.

When Ophelia speaks out against the injustice, she is abducted and imprisoned in a bizarre underworld where she discovers the shocking truth behind the surrogacy trade, illegal harvesting of human organs and the Ruling Elite's terrifying plans for the future of humanity.

Spanning the United Kingdom, France and Spain, Ophelia's journey takes her from a life of privilege to one of poverty before she finds a way to destroy The Gaia Machine and reveal the power brokers behind the digital curtain. But success, she learns, looks rather different to what she had expected.

Consume this series with Ophelia, the complete series of three books!

The paperback version of this book is available from Amazon, worldwide. It can also be purchased from your local bookstore or borrowed from your library using the ISBN: 978-1739199869.

View full details